2011 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease Named

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C.--At their May meeting, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Board of Directors approved 10 awards for the Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease.
The five-year award provides $500,000 for opportunities for accomplished investigators at the assistant professor level to study pathogenesis, with a focus on the intersection of human and microbial biology. The program is intended to shed light on the overarching issues of how human hosts handle infectious challenge.
The awards provide recipients the freedom and flexibility to pursue new avenues of inquiry and higher-risk research projects that hold potential for advancing significantly the biochemical, pharmacological, immunological, and molecular biological understanding of how infectious agents and the human body interact.

“The questions at the intersection of microbes and their hosts are complex and fascinating,” said BWF President Dr. John Burris. “These investigators are opening up new ground for understanding how we interact with these amazing organisms.
Since 2002, BWF has funded 88 investigators for an investment of $41.1 million. 
The 2011 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease are:
David M. Aronoff, M.D.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Prostaglandin E2 synthesis and signaling in the pathogenesis of puerperal Group A Streptococcus infections
Gregory M.  Barton, Ph.D.
University of California-Berkeley
Interactions between TLRs and intracellular pathogens
Julie Magarian Blander, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Innate immune recognition of vita-PAMPs: a new class of pathogen associated molecular patterns that signifies microbial viability
Sara R. Cherry, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Systems biology of Alphavirus infection
Jonathan Dworkin, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Characterization of a novel family of receptors mediating metazoan recognition of microbes
Ekaterina Heldwein, Ph.D.
Tufts University School of Medicine
Structural mechanism of herpes virus egress
Sarkis K. Mazmanian, Ph.D.
California Institute of Technology
Novel probiotic therapy for microbial infections
Joseph D. Mougous, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Breaching the commensal barrier to infection with type VI secretion
Justin L. Sonnenburg, Ph.D.
Stanford University School of Medicine
Mechanisms of intestinal microbiota-conferred protection from enteric pathogens
Benjamin R. tenOever, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Small RNA-mediated control of microbes

MEDIA/PIO Contact: Russ Campbell at news@bwfund.org.

A complete listing of Investigators at the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease can be found here:  [LINK]